​In February 2017, we were honoured with a 2016 Heritage Award from PEI Museum & Heritage Foundation for Heritage Activity. We are very proud to have been recognized for this prestigious award, and take very seriously our role in preserving the rich history of this incredible Island.

Island Uniquities and Antiques is situated in Cape Traverse, Prince Edward Island. The building was built in Cape Traverse in 1916 as the Mason's hall. It has been completely restored locally, with fine detail and care, to maintain the rich history of the building and the Island.

We will be selling and displaying a large collection of East Coast Antiques, wares from Island artists, as well as objects of art and intrigue. 

Ice Boat Rarities and Antiques is just down the road, in our beautiful old church. We have taken the same detail to restore our church as we did the hall. 

History of Cape Traverse Mason's Hall

The best history of the hall can be found at the link below. 


History of Cape Traverse United Church

"The congregation of Cape Traverse originated in the home of George Muttart, the eldest son of Balthazar Muttart.  Georges' father, who had been with General Wolfe while scaling the Plains of Abraham in the capture of Quebec, was one of the earliest British settlers to arrive in Tryon around 1759.

George was brought up Roman Catholic but was converted along with his son, Charles in 1815 to Wesleyan Methodism and their home was opened to preaching and class meetings. Their desire (along  with several others) to build a church was made a reality in 1831. 

Over the years the little chapel was renovated and a gallery added in 1864. As the old church outgrew its usefulness, Lewis Muttart and Alexander Strang were instrumental in having the present building constructed in 1889 on the land donated by Montague Muttart and in 1890 was dedicated to the Glory of God."

~​From the Bedeque Pastoral Charge



For more amazing history on the  Heritage Buildings of Prince Edward Island, you must visit Carter Jeffrey's blog at http://peiheritagebuildings.blogspot.ca.

Larry and Jane Dugdale.